New release?

New release?, a forum discussion on Jojo CMS. Join us for more discussions on New release? on our General Announcements forum.

Back to Forum Index : Back to General Announcements Page << [1] [2] [3] [4] [5] >>  RSS
Rick Rick

26 Apr 2012
Posts: 336

@Tom I saw the new repo last night and got the "you're an owner now" email. Thanks, it looks good.

@Jaijaz I'm happy for any of my plugins to stay in the official repo, they're only minor and my custom ones (for some reason) I name "hambrook_<pluginname>" and when I decide to release them it's a good excuse to refactor the code while updating the name to the "jojo_" convention.

I might do it with ones from now on though.

@antony Have you heard of svn export? It's just like checkout but it doesn't add the .svn folders. Great for grabbing a clean copy of a repo.
Jaijaz Jaijaz

26 Apr 2012
Posts: 215

@rick Yeah I have several jaijaz_<pluginname> too.

Sometimes they use stuff on a different open source license and sometimes just too specific for the community.

Where I can I will be putting these into my account so that they can be cloned for others use. I probably won't be bothered with renaming them.

A few years ago, Harvey and I had a conversation about plugins being named like that and it was kinda part of the plan if the community was to grow. I think Github finally allows that to work well.

Is this the longest thread ever yet?
If you not living on the edge you taking up too much space.
Rick Rick

26 Apr 2012
Posts: 336

It could be the longest thread, I'm not sure. I'll look at fixing the sidebar links to point to the correct page at some point. And the RSS feed for the thread to actually work.
Rick Rick

30 Apr 2012
Posts: 336

Opps, lets not change the download link on the Jojo website to "https://github.com/Hambrook/Jojo-CMS/zipball/v1.1" as that won't include the externals.
Rick Rick

25 Jun 2012
Posts: 336

Harvey's now on Github and I've added him to the Jojo organisation, but it hasn't linked his user with his SVN commits. I'll do some research tonight but if anyone knows how to do this feel free to jump in.
Jaijaz Jaijaz

27 Jun 2012
Posts: 215

At a guess he signed up to github with a different email address to what we used on the authors file when we converted the svn to git. I'll check which one we used.
If you not living on the edge you taking up too much space.
tom

Developer

tom

27 Jun 2012
Posts: 379

the ragepank one is what's in the commits. I'm not sure if github can work back from that just by changing your user details or if the svn version would have to be re-gitified using his git username against the svn ones (let's hope not)
Rick Rick

27 Jun 2012
Posts: 336

It might pick it up if he adds the RagePank address as an additional address.
Harvey

Core Developer

Harvey

2 Jul 2012
Posts: 327

Sorry if this seems like a dumb question...

Assuming all my commits are up to date, can I simply delete the SVN copy I have and clone a shiny fresh Git copy and start working/commiting with that?

Also, what is the school of thought with regard to branches? With SVN, the master was pretty much ignored and all the action happened on the 1.0 branch. I'd prefer to see the master become the core, stable copy, while everyone creates branches as required to work on and test out specific features.
tom

Developer

tom

2 Jul 2012
Posts: 379

Yip, it should be good to go - for the core Jojo at least. I'm pretty sure I got everything from the svn commits across, and there are a few which were only applied to git.

There's also a 1.1 tag on git which should be pretty stable

The git 'master' is the old 1.0 branch and we haven't transferred the trunk - I figure it can stay on svn as a resource for pulling out multi-site stuff down the track if we ever get that far, but that's probably about all the use it will be as it's so far out of wack with branch now.

Git makes branching (and remerging more importantly) very easy compared to svn - Rick and Jai have already got a couple running for experimental developments.

Git also makes tagging and releasing very easy so we're hoping to be a bit more regular with that. I'm hoping that with another week of runtime to expose bugs that we can tag a 1.15 release for all of the new forms stuff and then Jai can merge his Bootstrap/Less stuff (which looks very exciting) back into master with a view to that going out (after settling in) as 1.2

Some of the separate plugin repos will need a bit of vetting as I think there were a few commits in the changeover that may have got lost or changes still sitting uncommitted in svn copies that will need transferring (I know I have a few of those) but Jojo itself should be all up to date.

Rick Rick

2 Jul 2012
Posts: 336

One thing to note is that once we move forward and start using sub modules (externals in SVN) you can't just clone/checkout the repo. You have to initialise and update the submodules. This is simply two commands...
git submodule init
git submodule update --recursive


Without doing that you don't get the sub modules (which will be Less, Bootstrap, CSSTidy and possibly more). SVN would check out the externals automatically, Git doesn't.

Also, there's some CSSTidy updates to merge in that I'll do this week.
Jaijaz Jaijaz

4 Jul 2012
Posts: 215

There are a few svn commits to plugins that I haven't pulled across yet. Will get it down soon.

Definitely commit all fixes/simple enhancements to master. Branches are designed for feature development so that they can be developed without breaking master. Once they're ready we just merge back into master.
If you not living on the edge you taking up too much space.
tom

Developer

tom

21 Dec 2012
Posts: 379

I've (finally) done a tag of the current master (1.15) to include the form stuff and bug fixes since 1.1.
Seems to have been running pretty cleanly for a while and if there are any current issues with the form stuff they are hopefully edge cases.

I'm thinking this will allow me/gH to move pretty much all of our current/old sites onto one or other of the two current tags reasonably painlessly (and finally get rid of the SVN versions).

All of the new sites I'm building are on the BS branch (which I'm loving and I haven't even touched on the Less side of it yet). I've had no real issues with running it as a production version - are we good to merge that branch back to master now do you reckon?
Jaijaz Jaijaz

21 Dec 2012
Posts: 215

My Jojo based work has been a lot less recently so haven't done to much with the bootstrap branch. I do have it running on about 5 live sites that are all very stable.

I have had issues with the CssTidy library that Rick forked and included. The reordering of properties has on several occasions broken the cascading of the overall style sheet. Unfortunately I haven't had the opportunity to address this. I was thinking of just turning that combining of declarations off as the size decreases are quite minimal in the scheme of things.

Anyway, very happy for it to merged back as is.
If you not living on the edge you taking up too much space.
Rick Rick

21 Dec 2012
Posts: 336

We could rip out the CSSTidy stuff if you want, though I recently made that merging an option (in the class, not in Jojo. I haven't had the issues you mention though.

Tom, I see you moved GetNav, just hooked into that the other day to add items from a plugin to the menu, but found that $selecteditems becomes worthless for styling tier menu. I stayed to look at different code for generating $selecteditems but thought I'd check with you first. Did you use another method or simply not need the additional pages to be in $selecteditems when you add the functionality?
Jaijaz Jaijaz

22 Dec 2012
Posts: 215

After thinking a bit more about it and despite my comments I'd actually like to see CssTidy left in but perhaps add settings to control the level of optimising it does. I know the library has that so might not be too hard??
If you not living on the edge you taking up too much space.
Rick Rick

23 Dec 2012
Posts: 336

It's easy to add the settings, it'd just be nicer if we didn't need to, but as you said, it's not perfect. Most of the code in CSSTidy I'd beyond the level of what I'm normally working in, but I could take a look if you can show me examples where it failed.

I'll add the settings for CSSTidy next time I'm at my computer, unless someone beats me to it.
Jaijaz Jaijaz

28 Dec 2012
Posts: 215

The area were I notice the style re-arrange the most is with the h1/2/3/4/5 etc styles. For some reason in the process of combining different declarations of the same type the h1, h2, h3, h4, h5, h6 block gets moved to after the individual h settings, thus removing all the top and bottom margins.
If you not living on the edge you taking up too much space.
tom

Developer

tom

4 Jan 2013
Posts: 379

@Rick - I'll have a look at the getNav function - I probably wasn't using it in a context to notice so will check what's happening with selectedpages.

@Jai - yay - merge away!


Jaijaz Jaijaz

7 Jan 2013
Posts: 215

Bootstrap is now merged back into master. I haven't removed the bootstrap branch for now just in case.
If you not living on the edge you taking up too much space.
Back to Forum Index : Back to General Announcements Page << [1] [2] [3] [4] [5] >>  RSS
You must be logged in to post a reply



You need to Register or Log In before posting on these forums.